Backyard Wedding

My Heart

From the beginning, I’ve had this perceived pressure to put on a beautiful wedding and reception. (I say perceived because nobody is making me do anything.) Jon and I are so fortunate to be surrounded by a lot of amazing people, that are willing to travel from far away places, to share our big day with us. Because of that, I have been stressing about having a really nice reception “for them.” 

Then, I have also thought about what a busy weekend it would be, and how sad I am to have people come in from out of town, when I don’t know how much quality time we would be able to spend with them because of the number of guests and the wedding itself.

So, my first thought is to ask anyone that is planning to spend the money to come down to visit, maybe you can schedule for a non-wedding weekend? I really want to see you and spend time one-on-one with everyone, and it would mean so much more to us to have the opportunity to do that! 

Plus, since nobody else is visiting at the same time, you can just stay at the house with us! No money spent on a hotel room! 

I also know that many of the same people are planning to go to Georgia in the fall for Ashleigh & Kyle’s wedding. It’s a lot to ask in a year, and I would prefer to see everyone there. It’s her really big day, and I don’t want to distract from that!

Now before anyone asks, “But what about your big day?” Don’t worry. I have had our wedding planned in my head for at least 6 months before he proposed. It only involved 4 people… 2 of which were us.

I’m surrounded by people that I love every single day. We are both fortunate in that regard! But all I really need is to marry my Prince Charming on a beautiful beach at sunset. I don’t want any fuss. 

I completely understand the joy of a large wedding and celebrating in an elaborate way. It’s so much fun!! But at the end of the day, I really just want him and I, and Happily Ever After.

We will still plan a fun, simple reception… but we have too much going on in our family right now to worry too much about it.

And I’m okay with that.

2 thoughts on “My Heart

Leave a Reply

